User management

Importing organization data

Importing organization data is the fastest way to invite new users and populate/edit your employee directory.

How to upload an org file

  1. Log in to the PI software.
  2. Click the gear icon () in the top-right of the navigation bar. 
  3. You will land on the People tab within the Administration page.
  4. Select either “Employee directory” or “Employee access settings” on the left-hand side.
  5. Click the “Upload org file” button.
  6. A pop-up will appear asking you to upload an organization data file.
  7. (Optional) Download our blank template for a file with pre-populated column headers.

Note: If you have existing PI users, you already have an organization data file. Click “Download it here” at the bottom of the pop-up to download it.

  1. Read the instructions, then click “Next step: Upload file.”
  2. Follow the guided instructions within the software to ensure your file is error-free. (Having trouble? Click here.)
  3. Once satisfied with your data, select “Import.”
  4. (Optional) Invite newly added employees to use PI.
  5. (Optional) Send the Behavioral Assessment to newly added employees.

Adding employees to PI products

Uploading an organization file doesn’t immediately grant employees access to PI products. You must first invite these employees to join. Here’s how:

  1. After uploading an org file, a window will appear titled “Invite new employees.” 
  2. Select the employees you’d like to invite to use PI.
  3. Select the specific PI products you’d like these employees to access.
  4. Click “Send invitations.”

Note: All selected employees will be invited to all selected PI products. To fine-tune individual employee permissions, modify their access settings.

Sending the Behavioral Assessment to employees

The PI platform is powered by the PI Behavioral Assessment—a 2-question, 6-minute survey that helps employees understand their natural workplace drives and needs.

To get the most from PI, we recommend that every new user take the assessment before using the software. 

Here’s how to send the assessment:

  1. After inviting new employees to PI, a window will appear titled “Send the Behavioral Assessment.”
  2. Select the employees you’d like to send the assessment to.
  3. Click “Send assessment.”

I’m having trouble uploading my file. What should I do?

Once you click “Next step: Upload file,” you’ll be presented with a series of screens to walk you through the data upload. (Note: This process is powered by a third-party tool, OneSchema.)

Below is a detailed step-by-step you can follow to troubleshoot any issues:

1. Upload a file

Upload an Excel or CSV file containing the required data. (Note: You can download a template file to make this process easier.)

2. Select header row

Specify which row in the spreadsheet is your header row. (In most cases, the first row is the header row.) If OneSchema automatically detects your header row, it’ll skip this step. Once finished, click “Next.”

3. Map columns

Specify the columns uploaded via spreadsheet that correspond to the “template columns” required by Inspire. If OneSchema detects an exact match, it will automatically map those columns for you. Once finished, click “Confirm mapping.”

4. Review & finalize

You’ll be presented with a spreadsheet-like view of your organizational data. Use this screen to fix any validation errors within your file, either manually or automatically. Once satisfied with the changes, click “Import.”

Your organization file will be uploaded, and you will be prompted to invite newly added employees to PI.

FAQ

I don’t see the “Upload org file” button. Why?
You must be an organization admin to send bulk invitations. To become an admin, ask an existing admin to upgrade your access level.
I can’t find the template file to upload my data. Where is it?
1. Follow steps 1-6 from this section

2. You’ll be presented with a screen titled “Importing your data.” 

3. Click the hyperlink that says “download our blank template.”
Is the data I upload secure?
Any data you upload is strictly confidential. The data is stored on secure servers, all of which comply with industry-standard data security protocols.

For more on PI’s data security protocols, visit our Trust Center.
I’d like to update my existing employee data. How can I do this?
You can update existing employee information by uploading a new organization data file. 

When you upload a new file, any updates will automatically apply to your employee directory. New employees will be added to the directory, and existing employees will be updated based on the imported file.

For example: Jane Doe is a member of your organization and an existing PI user. She recently married and took the name Jane Mare, and you want to update her employee record in PI to reflect that fact. To do so, upload an organization file containing the new information. PI will automatically apply the changes.
Will uploading a new organization file ever delete an employee’s data?
No. If you have an existing organization file, your employee data is safe. PI will only add users to your employee directory or update their existing information—never delete them.
How do I resend an invite and/or the Behavioral Assessment?
1. Log in to the PI software.

2. Click the gear icon () in the top-right of the navigation bar. 

3. You will land on the People tab within the Administration page.

4. Search for the name or email of the employee you’d like to reinvite.

5. Click the dots icon () to the right of the person’s information.

6. Select “Resend invitation” or “Resend assessment” as needed.
How do I change someone’s access?
1. Log in to the PI software.

2. Click the gear icon () in the top-right of the navigation bar.

3. You will land on the People tab within the Administration page.

4. Search for the name or email of the person whose access you’d like to change.

5. Click the dots icon () to the right of the person’s information.

6. Select “Edit employee details” from the dropdown options.

7. You will land on a page titled Edit employee record.

8. Under User product access, select the desired access level for each product your organization is subscribed to.

9. (Optional) For each product, select/deselect the ability for the employee to activate premium features.

10. Click Save changes.
How do I remove an employee?
While you cannot outright delete an employee and their data, you can remove their software access.

Additional support


Do you still need support? Contact us here.

Was this page helpful? Spot a typo or inaccuracy? Let us know.