User management

Archiving employees

Want to remove an employee’s software access or retire old employee data? Organization admins can do so by archiving that employee.

How to archive an employee

  1. Log in to the PI software.
  2. Click the gear icon () in the top-right of the navigation bar. 
  3. You will land on the People tab within the Administration page.
  4. Search for the name or email of the employee you’d like to archive.
  5. Click the dots icon () to the right of the person’s information.
  6. Select Archive employee from the options.

The following steps depend on whether or not the employee owns existing items (e.g., jobs, teams).

If the employee doesn’t own items:

  1. A confirmation message will appear.
  2. Click Archive.

If the employee does own items:

  1. A message will appear asking you to transfer ownership.
  2. Click Transfer items.
  3. A menu titled “Transfer items” will open.
  4. Enter the name or email of the person to whom you’re transferring ownership.
  5. Click Transfer items.
  6. The items will be transferred, and the employee will be archived.

FAQ

Does archiving an employee also delete their data?
No. Archiving an employee will revoke their software access, remove them from your list of current employees, and hide their data (e.g., job title, assessment results).

However, admins can restore this person’s data—and access—at any time by un-archiving the employee.
How do I un-archive an employee?
To un-archive an employee:

1. Log in to the PI software.

2. Click the gear icon () in the top-right of the navigation bar. 

3. You will land on the People tab within the Administration page.

4. Click the dropdown box titled “Current employees.”

5. Select Archived employees from the options.

6. Search for the name or email of the employee who you’d like to un-archive.

7. Click the dots icon () to the right of the person’s information.

8. Select Un-archive employee from the options.
I don’t see an option to archive or un-archive. Why?
You must be an organization admin to archive or un-archive employees. To become an admin, ask an existing admin to upgrade your access level.
How do I transfer individual items to different people?
The Administration page only allows you to transfer items in bulk. To transfer individual items, do so from the “share” panel within PI Hire or PI Design.

– PI Hire: Transfer a job
– PI Design: Transfer a team
I’d like to erase a candidate or employee’s data. Is that possible?
While you cannot outright delete someone’s data, you can anonymize their record.

Additional support


Do you still need support? Contact us here.

Was this page helpful? Spot a typo or inaccuracy? Let us know.